Where have all the good musicians gone?

Every once in a while I find an artist or album I can’t stop listening to. I could listen to the same songs over and over again and never get sick of them. Right now I am addicted to Pepper’s new album, “No Shame.” Almost every song on this CD plays through my head constantly when I am not listening to it.

I hate just about every new artist coming out today. Every new hit single on the radio sounds just like the last one. Bands call themselves “rock” bands when they are nowhere close to rock. What happened to the days when a rock band consisted of punk rockers and not a bunch of faggoty, girl-pants-wearing emos talking about death? I have stopped listening to the radio because of this reason, oh, and rap/hip-hop.

Don’t get me wrong, some rap is okay, but thats only older rap. What happened to the days of hardened criminals like Eazy-E and N.W.A. rapping about all their lives on the street and how they had to struggle to survive. Now we have the pleasure of hearing how much money these rappers have and how much whitey is holding them back. No rapper today is really “gangsta” nor will they ever be. “Gangsta” is not living in the Hollywood Hills with hundred-thousand dollar cars parked in the driveway of their multi-million dollar “cribs.”

All of the bands I listen to aren’t big named and will probably never be, just because they don’t fit into the mold that is today’s new hit. In a way I would like to see some of these bands become superstars, just so they can have their piece of the pie, but at the same time I don’t want these bands to conform with other people’s views of “good music.” I’ll just stick to Sublime, Pepper, Slightly Stoopid, Bargain Music, Dropkick Murphy’s and Ween for now.

Leave a Reply

